Short Term Rental Guidelines
Welcome to the Town of Frisco! We are committed to providing the highest level of support and education for homeowners who may offer their Frisco property for rent on a short-term basis. Please review the following requirements to help prevent any complications in the future.
Short Term Rental Requirements
State of Colorado Requirements
Property owners who wish to begin renting out units, or rooms in units, on a short-term basis (less than thirty days, consecutively, to the same customer) are required by the State of Colorado to obtain a State sales tax account number. This requirement may also be contingent upon the booking platform(s) used by customers to rent the unit. Please visit taxcolorado.com or call (303) 238-7378 to determine whether or not you are required to obtain a State of Colorado sales tax account, and to obtain the proper Business Registration Form (CR 0100) and payment information.
Town of Frisco Requirements
The Town of Frisco requires owners of short term rentals (STR) to obtain a Town of Frisco short term rental license. A new ordinance (18-10- located in Article III) governing STRs was passed by Town Council on January 8, 2019. Please see below for an outline of the new ordinance, including updated timelines for full implementation.
New STR licenses will be issued beginning July 1, 2019 for a term of July 1 – April 30, 2020. Subsequent renewal terms will be dated from May 1 – April 30.
All rentals of short-term accommodations are subject to State, County, Special District and Town sales tax, as well as the Town lodging tax.
The total tax to be collected is 10.725% of the purchase price necessary to procure the lodging and is made up of the following taxes:
- 2.9% in State sales tax
- 2.0% in County sales tax
- 0.75% in County mass transit tax (Summit Stage)
- 0.725% in Special District (Summit County Housing Authority) sales tax
- 2.0% in Town sales tax
- 2.35% in Town lodging tax
The 2.0% Town sales tax and 2.35% Town lodging tax should be remitted directly to the Town of Frisco with a Town of Frisco sales/lodging tax return form. The remaining 6.375% should be remitted to the State of Colorado with a State sales tax return form.
About the Short Term Rental Ordinance
- June 3, 2019 – STR license application website and materials available
- Beginning July 1, 2019 – STR licenses issued by the Town of Frisco
- July 1, 2019 – April 30, 2020 – First term of the new STR licenses
- August 2019 – Official complaint process to be developed and communicated by Town Staff
Key Changes Brought About By the New Short Term Rental Ordinance
- Elimination of “umbrella” licenses – Now each STR unit is required to hold a unique license.
- STRs will now have their own license applications, rather than just using a general business license application.
- The STR license application fee will be $125 per year for new and renewed licenses.
- Designation of “responsible agent”
- Must be available 24 hours per day/7 days per week to respond to and resolve complaints
- Failure to resolve legitimate complaints to satisfaction of complainant and/or the Town will likely result in a citation
- Statement of maximum occupancy will be required on the application and is designated at 2 occupants per bedroom plus 4 additional occupants. STR owners may apply for waiver to increase occupancy, pending inspection by Town of Frisco Building Department and approval of additional occupancy.
- Renters must be provided with an information notice which will include address, emergency information and other information (described below) in a conspicuous location.
- A parking plan will need to be submitted with the application.
- A life safety affidavit, which is signed by the STR owner, must be submitted with the application.
- Parking – no motor vehicles parked on landscaped areas, public streets or public right-of-ways; no person permitted to stay overnight in a parked vehicle; owner to submit parking plan to Town and share with guests
- Trash/Recycling – shall comply with section 127-17 of the town code
- Occupancy – 2 per bedroom plus 4; can apply for waiver from Town Manager, pending inspection by Town of Frisco Building Department and approval of additional occupancy based on sleeping places within bedrooms
- Renters’ information notice must include the following in a conspicuous location (the first 5 items on the list must be on a sign posted within the unit):
- Emergency services contact information
- Physical address of unit
- Responsible agent or owner contact information
- Town of Frisco STR license number
- Location of fire extinguishers and fire escape routes
- Approved maximum occupancy
- Maximum number of parking spaces and locations of such
- Alternative parking (if any) for extra vehicles
- Location of trash/recycling containers and the rules for handling
- Snow removal information
- Noise policies
- Pet policies
- Any applicable HOA policies specific to property
- Life Safety (Owners to sign affidavit testifying to such)
- Units must meet building, technical and safety codes located in chapter 65 of the town code
- Smoke and carbon monoxide detectors, and fire extinguishers, must be installed and maintained in operable condition
- Wood burning fireplaces and stoves must be cleaned on an annual basis
- Noise and Nuisance
- Camping and Temporary Structures
- No person shall camp outdoors overnight
- No overnight use of recreational vehicles or trailers
- Advertising for STRs
- Must include reference to Town of Frisco STR license number
- Must include statement of approved maximum occupancy
- Owners are solely responsible for complying with STR requirements regarding the renters’ information notice, life safety standards and advertising requirements.
- Guests can be held responsible for failure to follow parking, trash/recycling, occupancy, noise and nuisance, camping and temporary structures guidelines.
- Inspections by the Town of Frisco
- Inspections may occur if there are life safety complaints or per an STR owner’s request to increase occupancy limits.
- If entry is refused, a warrant must be obtained in order to inspect the STR.
- Suspension of Licenses
- Suspension of an STR license will be in place for 150 days
- If found guilty in Municipal Court of more than one violation of Town Code within one year
- Operated in violation of building, fire, health or safety codes – based on official investigation and determination – 20 day correction period allowed
- Failure to file or pay applicable sales and lodging taxes
- Failure to pay annual license application fee
- Revocation of Licenses
- 1 full year in length
- Due to:
- More than one license suspension within past year
- False or misleading application materials
- Operation of STR during a suspension
- Any conditions that would have warranted a denial of license at the time of application
- Appeal process available for denials, suspensions and revocations
- Violation, Penalty and Enforcement
- Unlawful for any owner, responsible agent or occupant of STR to violate any provisions within the town code
- Violations of code, beyond those requiring suspension and/or revocation of STR license will carry same penalties as any other violations of town code – section 1-14