Town News

Municipal Election Candidate Information

Interested in Serving on Town Council and giving back to your community? Want to be a part of shaping your community?  Consider running for municipal office. The Summit County Municipal Clerks will be hosting a Candidate Forum Thursday, December 14th 6:00-7:00pm at the Senior Center. The Clerks will be presenting an overview of the process for anybody thinking about running for office.

Each of Summit County’s four municipalities will be holding their Municipal Elections on Tuesday, April 3, 2018 and have a variety of offices open for election. Frisco voters will elect four council members at the upcoming Town of Frisco Municipal Election to be held April 3, 2018. Their four-year terms will expire in April 2022. Council members Cancelosi, Ihnken, Kibbie, and Mortensen’s positions are up for re-election. These council members are not termed out of office at this election.Frisco candidate nomination petitions will be available beginning Friday, December 29, 2017. Petitions may be circulated Tuesday, January 2, 2018 through Monday, January 22, 2018. As a candidate, you are required to secure a minimum of twenty-five registered electors’ signatures.  The signatures must be of registered voters whose primary residence is within the physical boundaries of the Town of Frisco. Each petition circulator must complete an Affidavit of Circulator to be submitted with the petition.

Frisco municipal candidates must:

  • be a United States citizen
  • be at least eighteen years of age
  • be a resident of Frisco (excluding unincorporated areas: Bill’s Ranch, Evergreen, Frisco Heights, Frisco Terrace, Giberson Tract, Ophir Mountain, and Wiborg Park) for twelve consecutive months preceding the date of the election
  • be a registered voter
  • have not been convicted of embezzlement, bribery, perjury, solicitation of bribery, or subornation of perjury

Frisco Town Council members meet twice monthly, the second and fourth Tuesday of each month.  Other time commitments include representation on County and/or State committees with varying responsibilities. The elected candidates will be sworn in and expected to participate in the April 24th Council meeting.

Completed petitions must be returned to your Town Clerk on or before Monday, January 22, 2018, 5:00pm. For more information or to obtain a petition, please contact the Town Clerk in your jurisdiction:  Breckenridge Town Clerk – Helen Cospolich, 970-547-3126,; Dillon Town Clerk – Jo-Anne Tyson, 970-262-3406,; Frisco Town Clerk – Deborah Wohlmuth, 970-668-9122,; Silverthorne Town Clerk – Michelle Miller, 970-262-7304,