It’s time to renew your STR License with the Town of Frisco and the deadline is June 30th. The Town extended the deadline that was originally due April 30, due to the COVID-19 closures.
In an effort to assist with the upcoming renewal process for all STR licenses, the Town has approved Ordinance 20-05, to amend the renewal process for licensing of short-term rental properties by eliminating the existing requirement to provide the same documents required during original application and replacing it with a requirement for property owner to certify there has been no change to the original documents submitted or provide updated information as may be required.
With confirmed community spread of the COVID-19 virus in Summit County, all lodging businesses, including hotels, motels, timeshares and short-term rentals (e.g. Airbnb, VRBO, etc.) are required to remain closed and is in effect through May 31, 2020, but is subject to change.
Failure to comply with the Public Health Order is subject to penalties including fines up to $5,000, up to 18 months of jail time, and revocation of the short-term rental permit. Owners of short-term rentals must block out their online reservation calendars on all relevant platforms prior to June 1 in order to avoid inadvertently taking reservations for stays that would occur during the prohibited period.
Summit County has announced its intent to allow the opening of lodging businesses, pending the approval from the State of Colorado. If the Colorado of Public Health and Environment approves Summit County’s request for a variance from the state public health orders, or the governor lifts statewide restrictions, lodging businesses including hotels, motels, timeshares, and short term rentals, could open on June 1.The proposed variance states that lodging business would be required to place signage throughout the property to instruct guests and staff on proper physical distancing and wearing of face coverings when in common areas, such as lobbies and hallways. Staff would be screened daily for symptoms of illness.
All lodging businesses would be required to discontinue housekeeping services during guest stays; supply a complete change of towels and linens; provide guests with sanitation wipes or solutions; and ensure that all high-touch surfaces are completely disinfected between guests. Summit County Public Health recommends waiting at least 24 hours after guest departure before allowing staff to enter a room and providing for at least 72 hours between guests in a given room or rental property.
As a reminder, no one is to be traveling to the high country until after June 1 if the variance requested is approved. Please stay home and stay safe and we look forward to seeing everyone again soon.
Anyone renting their Frisco property, or seeking to rent a property in Frisco, for less than a consecutive thirty-day period should be aware of the town’s requirements for short-term rentals. These requirements apply regardless of how the properties are marketed – through a management company, online such as VRBO and Airbnb, newspaper or word of mouth.Short Term Rental Frequently Asked Questions Short Term Rental Application, Renewals & Tax Remittance
The application process requires the following 5 documents:
You must have the following financial and rental information ready to complete the application process:
If you have not remitted Frisco sales and lodging taxes in the past, you must have the following rental history and financial information from January 2017 – present, in order to complete the application process. If you have been remitting sales and lodging tax under the previous process and business license, then please just put zeros in each field, as you should not be charged for sales and lodging tax twice.
All STRs are subject to state, county, special district and town sales tax and the town lodging tax.
The total tax to be collected is 10.725%.
– 2.9% State of Colorado sales tax
– 2.0% Summit County sales tax
– 0.75% Summit County mass transit tax (Summit Stage)
– 0.725% Special District (Summit County Housing Authority) sales tax
– 2.0% Town of Frisco sales tax
– 2.35%Town of Frisco lodging tax
The 2.0% Town of Frisco sales tax and 2.35% Town of Frisco lodging tax (4.35% total) should be remitted directly to the Town of Frisco through the Town of Frisco’s Host Compliance service. Town of Frisco sales tax and lodging tax are due by the 20th of every month.
Booking sites like VRBO and AirBnB do NOT collect Town of Frisco sales and lodging taxes. To collect Town of Frisco tax from your guests, you will need to visit the support page for the booking site that you use to rent your unit and search for “additional payment request”.
On October 1, 2019 booking sites such as VRBO and AirBnB are now collecting and remitting taxes on behalf of homeowners directly to the State of Colorado. These tax collections only cover the state, county and special district taxes for a total of 6.375%. Short term rental owners are still required to individually collect and remit 2% sales tax and 2.35% lodging tax (4.35% total) directly to the Town of Frisco.
Beginning January 2020, ALL short term rental properties will file tax returns using the Host Compliance site instead of paper returns or online through Xpress Bill Pay.
Through the remainder of 2019, everyone filing with paper or through Xpress Bill Pay may file using these same methods, BUT they must also file through Frisco’s Host Compliance service and enter $0.00 for their total sales for that month.Frisco Short Term Rental Guide Frisco Short Term Rental Ordinance
Staff is available to answer questions and assist with the application process by appointment only. Please email to make an appointment.