Liquor, Tobacco, and Marijuana Licensing
The Town Clerk’s office stands ready to assist businesses with liquor, tobacco, and marijuana licensing questions from businesses located within the Town of Frisco. The best way to get in touch is via email located in the contact info on the right side of this page.
For questions regarding Town sales tax/business licensing, the Finance Department can assist you with the Frisco business and sales tax licensing.
Town Special Event Liquor Permits
Special Event Liquor Permits can be applied for directly to the Town Clerk. Events and applying entities must meet all of the following requirements set by State Law:
- The event is happening within the Town limits of Frisco,
- The event is open to the public and involves the sale or distribution of alcohol,
- The applying entity is a not-for-profit organization, registered in good standing with the Colorado Secretary of State’s Office, and
- Applications must be complete and submitted with the $100 fee payment, no less than 30 days from the start of the event
Town Liquor Licenses
Frisco Town Council acts as the Local Licensing Authority for businesses located in the Town’s limits. State statute and Town code govern liquor licensing in Frisco. Please reach out to the Town Clerk via email for more information about how to get started. Businesses located outside of Town limits should contact the Summit County Clerk & Recorder’s Office for liquor licensing inquiries.
State Liquor Licenses
The Town will coordinate paperwork and fees owed to the State with your initial application to the Town. There is no separate action to be taken with the State regarding liquor licensing, the Town Clerk will facilitate your State license.
New Applications or Transfers: Get a Head Start!
- Determine the type of liquor license you are seeking. Colorado Liquor Code- C.R.S. 44-3-103 lays out definitions of each type of liquor license available in the State of Colorado. You can also look up a similar business on the State of Colorado website to see which type of liquor license they hold.
- Begin the Colorado Liquor Retail License Application/DR8404, paying close attention to the checklist on Page two (2) regarding which documents you will need to provide. This will form the bulk of your application.
- Each individual with 10% or more ownership in the applying entity will need to fill out the Affidavit of Source of Funds, Authorization to Release, and get fingerprinted (see below).
- Get fingerprinted in Frisco at Copy Copy through Colorado Fingerprinting, or in Breckenridge at the Summit County Sheriff’s Office through Identogo: fingerprint-based criminal history results will be transmitted directly to the Town Clerk. Applicants must make an appointment online, no walk-ins accepted for fingerprinting at either location. Correct service code is: 25YQ6K or “Liquor Licensing – Local City CRS 44-3-307″. Do not send your results to the County, State, or any law enforcement agency – it will cause you to have to get fingerprinted again. Send results to: Frisco Town Clerk.
- The Town Clerk’s Office is required by statute to hold applications for a minimum of 30 days from the date they are deemed complete by the Town Clerk. New license applications undergo a needs and desires (petition) process, and a public hearing at a Frisco Town Council meeting, after a minimum 30-day from the date the applications were deemed complete.
- Complete the Individual History Record/DR8404-I form for each person who owns 10% or more of the applying entity.
- If the registered manager is not an owner, then they must also complete the Individual History Record/DR8404-I form.
- Electronic (email) submissions of forms and fees are not accepted by the Town Clerk. All forms must be submitted as one-sided, hard copy, all at once, by appointment only with the Town Clerk. At this time, only checks are able to be accepted for fee payments.
- Once fingerprinting and paperwork are completed and gathered, email the Town Clerk for an application review, which will take approximately one (1) hour.
Liquor License Renewals
- Please fill out the three (3) page Renewal Form Packet
- Dollar amounts vary depending on type of liquor license held
- There have been no State or local changes to annual renewal fees in 2023 from 2022; licensees can match last year’s payments, or send an email to Town Clerk to reconfirm fees
- State fee: can be paid online at the State of Colorado website by scrolling down to “Online Payment” button
- Town fee: At this time, only checks may be accepted by the Town for Town fee payments due to a software update that is still in process
- Submit: Please be sure to include a note if you paid the State’s fee online before submitting to the Town
- In-Person: Please submit to the front desk at Frisco Town Hall, Mondays through Fridays (except observed holidays) from 8:00am-5:00pm and please include all filled out, signed forms and check at the time of drop-off to prevent delays in processing your renewal
- By mail: Town of Frisco, Attn: Town Clerk P.O. Box 4100 Frisco, CO 80443 and please be sure to verify the forms are completely filled out and signed, and include checks in envelope before mailing
- Via email: Please email to the Town Clerk (see top right of this webpage) and please be sure to indicate plans to mail or drop-off checks in your email
Tobacco & Tobacco Products Licensing
Town Tobacco Licenses
Upon the passing of Summit County Measure 1A in the coordinated election held in November 2019, Town Council adopted Ordinance 19-15 establishing a tobacco sales licensing process in the Town of Frisco and moving the minimum age for purchase of tobacco products to 21 years starting January 1, 2020. In order to sell tobacco or tobacco-related products applicable under Ordinance 19-15, businesses located within the Town limits of Frisco must maintain a current Town Tobacco Retail Products License. To apply for the first time, or to renew, reach out to the Town Clerk via email for assistance. Tobacco licenses are not pro-rated. The licensing period is January 1 – December 31, no matter what time in the year the application for licensure is made. To apply for a new Tobacco License, or renew an existing license in good standing, fill out the Tobacco Application Form and submit along with the $600 fee. The FAQ digital handout contains helpful information about applying, renewals, and compliance.
State Tobacco Licenses
Unlike liquor licensing, businesses in Colorado selling tobacco and tobacco-related products must contact the State of Colorado separately from the Town for information about how to obtain and maintain a State of Colorado Tobacco License. Contact the State of Colorado Tobacco Enforcement Division directly.
Medical and retail (sometimes referred to as “recreational”) marijuana licenses with the Town and State of Colorado are required in order to sell marijuana in the Town of Frisco. The licenses are treated separately and distinctly at both the Town and State levels. Marijuana businesses are governed in the Town of Frisco by land use and zoning regulation, and the Frisco Town Council acts as the Local Marijuana Authority. To inquire about marijuana licensing within the Town of Frisco, please contact the Town Clerk via email.
No marijuana business shall be issued a license if, at the time of the initial application for such license, the proposed location is:
- Within 500 feet of any licensed child care facility;
- Within 500 feet of any educational institution or school, either public or private;
- Within 500 feet of any halfway house or correctional facility;
- Within 700 feet of another medical marijuana business or retail marijuana establishment;
- Within 500 feet of a residential dwelling unit;
- Within any residential zoning district, or the Central Core Zoning District, or the Mixed-Use Zoning
- District along East or West Main Street;
- Within any building containing a dwelling unit, a pediatrician’s office, or any hotel, motel, condominium hotel, boarding facility, lodging facility, or rooming facility; or
- Within a single development project that contains another medical marijuana business or a retail marijuana establishment.